The Crossings Book Club — February Meeting

Our next meeting is Tuesday, February 21 at 6:30 p.m. at the Crossings clubhouse (the Walnut Country HOA Clubhouse, 44965 S Larwin Ave, Concord, CA 94521). We’ll be discussing Roseanna, by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö (“the best writers of police procedurals in the world”). “The masterful first novel in the Martin Beck series of mysteries finds Beck hunting for the murderer of a lonely traveler” (from publisher’s blurb). The Vintage Crime/Black Lizard edition has an introduction by Henning Mankell, author of the Wallander series.

In March, we’ll be reading Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes.  ”Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is” (publisher’s blurb).  The publisher calls the book “A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.” The meeting to discuss the book will be on Tuesday, March 21.

April’s book is The Terror Years: From al-Qaeda to the Islamic State, by Lawrence Wright. “With the Pulitzer Prize–winning The Looming Tower, Lawrence Wright became generally acknowledged as one of our major journalists writing on terrorism in the Middle East. Here, in ten powerful pieces first published in The New Yorker, he recalls the path that terror in the Middle East has taken, from the rise of al-Qaeda in the 1990s to the recent beheadings of reporters and aid workers by ISIS” (publisher’s blurb). April’s meeting will be on Tuesday, April 18.

–LK

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.